Table of Contents
- Quick answer
- Who is this article for?
- Key takeaways
- What “best” should mean in a PRS decision
- The current provider directory is the starting point
- Compare the actual fund, not only the provider
- The age-based default option is a starting point, not a verdict
- Compare fees using the same basis
- Read performance without turning it into a promise
- Check the account and service experience
- A neutral comparison by priority
- A practical six-step shortlist
- Connect the fund choice to the rest of the PRS decision
- PRS fund returns snapshot
- How to read the rankings
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and verification notes
Quick answer
There is no single best PRS provider or fund for every Malaysian investor. The provider is only one part of the decision. The actual result depends on the fund, unit class, investment mandate, risk level, fees, contribution channel and how long you can leave the money invested.
This page includes a dated 10Y snapshot of reported PRS fund returns from one iFAST data source. PRS is long-term retirement saving, so use this as a research filter, not a recommendation.
Use the current PPA directory to confirm which providers and funds exist, then compare:
- the fund's objective and asset allocation;
- your time horizon and ability to accept losses;
- sales, management, trustee, PPA and transaction charges;
- conventional or Shariah-compliant structure and local or overseas exposure;
- minimum contributions, service and account access; and
- performance over an appropriate period, without treating the latest winner as a forecast.
The safest shortlist is made from current official fund documents, not a generic “top provider” list. A PRS fund is an investment and its value can rise or fall.
Who is this article for?
This guide is for a Malaysian reader searching for the best PRS provider, best PRS fund or lowest PRS fees. It shows how to compare the current choices without turning a past-performance table into a product recommendation.
It does not rank providers, recommend a specific fund or calculate your personal tax outcome. Read the PRS Malaysia guide for the scheme mechanics, the PRS fees guide for the fee categories and Is PRS worth investing in? for the wider decision.
Key takeaways
- “Best provider” is not the same as “best fund”. A provider can offer funds with different objectives, risks, fees and unit classes.
- PPA maintains the current directory of PRS providers and funds. Use it to check availability rather than relying on an old article.
- PPA's current structure page displays age-based default options as Growth below age 45, Moderate from age 45 to below 54, and Conservative from age 55. The page does not state the treatment for age 54, so confirm it with PPA or the provider before contributing.
- PPA's performance page provides snapshots over one-year and five-year periods and warns that past performance does not guarantee future results.
- Compare total costs for the exact fund, class and contribution channel. A zero sales charge alone does not prove that the long-term cost is low.
- Check the fund disclosure document and Product Highlights Sheet before contributing. Regulation and a familiar brand do not guarantee capital or returns.
- A good choice is one you understand, can hold through market movement and can review against your retirement plan.
Want help working through your PRS decision?
If you would rather work through the decision with me, you can book a free assessment. It carries no obligation and starts with your goals, time horizon and ability to handle losses.
What “best” should mean in a PRS decision
“Best” is a useful search phrase, but it is not a complete investment test. One person may need a Shariah-compliant fund, another may need a lower-risk allocation, and another may want a particular overseas exposure. A fund that looks attractive in one category can still be unsuitable for a different time horizon or cash-flow need.
Unit classes such as Class A and Class C may differ in charges, terms or available channels. For a broader explanation of how class and channel can affect PRS costs, read our PRS fees guide. Check the latest documents for the exact fund, class and channel before acting.
Use double-digit returns as a hypothetical example: even if a PRS fund delivered a double-digit annualised return over a past period, that is a historical result, not a promise that it will repeat. If equity markets enter a recession or suffer a sharp correction, a fund with higher equity exposure could also fall by double digits. The question is not only, “How much did it make?” but also: “If my account temporarily fell 15% or 20%, could I keep holding it instead of panic-selling at a low point?”
A more useful question is:
Which available PRS fund and provider arrangement fit my objective, time horizon, risk capacity, fees and ability to stay invested?
That question also makes the comparison easier to update when providers, funds, charges or performance data change.
The current provider directory is the starting point
PPA's current provider page lists these PRS providers:
| Provider listed by PPA | What to verify on the provider site |
|---|---|
| AHAM Asset Management Berhad | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| AIA Pension and Asset Management Sdn Bhd | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| AmFunds Management Berhad | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| Hong Leong Asset Management Bhd | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| Kenanga Investors Berhad | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| Principal Asset Management Berhad, formerly CIMB-Principal Asset Management Berhad | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
| RHB Asset Management Sdn Bhd | Available funds, classes, charges and contribution channels |
This is a directory, not a ranking. The provider name does not tell you which fund you will hold, how much it costs, where it invests or whether the risk suits you. Confirm the current list before opening an account because providers, fund names and arrangements can change.
Compare the actual fund, not only the provider
PPA's PRS structure information shows that members can choose among different fund options, including conventional or Shariah-based funds and local or offshore exposure. Within one provider, two funds can therefore behave very differently.
Record these fields for each fund you are considering:
- fund name and unit class;
- investment objective;
- equity, fixed-income, cash or other asset exposure;
- local, regional or global mandate;
- conventional or Shariah-compliant structure;
- risk description and suggested holding period;
- management, trustee and other recurring costs;
- sales, switching, transfer, withdrawal or redemption charges; and
- the document date and latest available performance period.
If a comparison table does not identify the actual fund and class, it is not yet a fair comparison.
The age-based default option is a starting point, not a verdict
PPA currently displays age-based default options of:
| Age shown by PPA | Default core fund |
|---|---|
| Below 45 | Growth Fund |
| 45 to below 54 | Moderate Fund |
| Age 54 | PPA's page does not state the treatment; confirm with PPA or the provider |
| 55 and above | Conservative Fund |
The default option can be useful when you do not want to select a fund yourself. It does not remove the need to understand the fund's objective, fees or risk. Age is only one input. Your retirement date, other assets, ability to tolerate a fall and need for a Shariah-based or particular geographic mandate may point to a different comparison.
Compare fees using the same basis
PRS charges can occur at more than one level. Depending on the fund and transaction, check sales or upfront charges, management fees, trustee fees, PPA charges, switching fees, transfer fees, withdrawal fees and redemption charges.
Use the exact Product Highlights Sheet, disclosure document, PPA fee comparison and provider schedule for the fund and class you will actually use. Check whether a charge is deducted from your contribution, reflected in the fund's NAV, charged per transaction or currently waived. A waiver can change.
Do not compare a fund with no sales charge against another fund with a lower recurring cost and conclude that the first is cheaper. Put the one-off and ongoing costs on the same page and state the period you are comparing.
The PRS fees and charges guide explains the difference between a fee, a tax penalty and an investment loss.
Read performance without turning it into a promise
PPA's performance page is updated monthly and presents one-year and five-year snapshots. It also states that past performance does not guarantee future performance. The page identifies the reporting date and source, so record both when you save a comparison.
When comparing performance:
- compare funds with similar allocation and objective;
- use the same period and return convention;
- note whether the return is annualised and whether the fund class is the same;
- look at the risk taken to obtain the return;
- read the fund's investment and fee disclosures; and
- ask what changed if a fund moved sharply up or down.
A recent top-five list can be useful for finding questions to investigate. It is not, by itself, a reason to buy a fund.
Check the account and service experience
Once the fund shortlist is sensible, compare the practical arrangement:
- how you make one-off or recurring contributions;
- the minimum initial and subsequent contribution;
- how you view statements and fund prices;
- how switching or transferring is requested;
- how long provider service responses usually take; and
- which current documents and records you will receive.
Convenience is relevant, but it should not outweigh an unsuitable mandate or an unexplained fee. Use the provider links in PPA's directory to verify the current process rather than relying on a comparison article's old app screenshots.
A neutral comparison by priority
| If your priority is… | Compare this first | Avoid assuming |
|---|---|---|
| Lower total cost | Exact fund, class, channel and one-off plus recurring charges | That zero sales charge means zero cost |
| Shariah compliance | The fund's current classification and documents | That every fund from a provider has the same status |
| Global or regional exposure | Mandate, asset allocation, currency and underlying holdings | That a provider's brand determines where every fund invests |
| A simple default | Default fund objective, glide path, fees and age bands | That default means guaranteed or risk-free |
| Higher growth potential | Equity exposure, time horizon and ability to accept losses | That a higher past return will continue |
| Easier administration | Contribution, statement, switching and support process | That a convenient app makes the investment suitable |
A practical six-step shortlist
These are screening groups, not recommendations. They use only the visible iFAST snapshot: 61 exact fund/share-class records, 43 with a reported 10Y figure, and bid-price dates of 25–26 August 2026. This is a platform view, not the full Malaysian PRS market. A name appears here because it meets the stated table or category filter, not because it is suitable for you.
- Equity exposure screen: Criterion: a record labelled
Equityin the current 10Y highest-reported table. Starting records are Principal Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity – Class C, Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity – Class C, Principal Islamic PRS Plus Growth – Class C, Principal PRS Plus Equity – Class C, AmPRS – Islamic Equity Fund – Class D, AIA PAM – Growth Fund, Manulife Shariah PRS – Growth Fund – Class A and Principal PRS Plus Growth – Class C. Reader condition: you want to investigate an equity-exposure option for a long retirement horizon and understand that larger market movements are possible. This is a screen, not a higher-return promise. - Multi-Asset screen: Criterion: a record labelled
Multi-Assetin the current 10Y highest-reported table. Starting records are Principal PRS Plus Moderate – Class C and Principal Islamic PRS Plus Moderate – Class C. Reader condition: you want to begin with a mixed-allocation category rather than a pure Equity record. Read the exact objective and current documents before treating either record as a candidate. - Fixed Income screen: Criterion: start with the
Fixed Incomecategory reference shown on this page. The visible reference records are AmPRS – Conservative Fund – Class D and AmPRS – Tactical Bond Fund – Class D. Reader condition: you want to investigate the Fixed Income category first. The category label does not decide whether the fund fits your plan. - Balanced screen: Criterion: start with the
Balancedcategory reference shown on this page. The visible reference records are Manulife Shariah PRS – Moderate Fund – Class A and Manulife PRS – Moderate Fund – Class A. Reader condition: you want to investigate a Balanced category first. Confirm the current mandate, class and documents before making any decision.
If Shariah compliance is required, apply that as a filter inside the group you choose. Keep only records whose current fund name and official documents support that classification. The group names and labels are a starting screen, not a recommendation.
Use this short path:
- Choose one group based on the role you want the PRS holding to play: Equity exposure, Multi-Asset, Fixed Income or Balanced.
- Apply any required Shariah filter within that group, then confirm the exact fund and unit class.
- Read the current objective, contribution channel, fees and product documents before calling a record a personal candidate. The article does not add Tier B fee or drawdown figures.
- If you cannot explain the fund in plain language or cannot stay invested through a fall, pause. This article has not recommended a fund to you. A personal recommendation comes only after a personal risk assessment.
Turn the screening result into a personal PRS decision
This article is general financial education. The groups above are screening outputs, not a recommendation for you. The fund recommendation is a service delivered after a personal risk assessment.
The groups come from one iFAST snapshot of 61 exact records, with 43 reporting a 10Y figure and bid-price dates of 25–26 August 2026. They are not the full Malaysian PRS market.
If you book the free assessment, the route is:
- I handle your PRS account opening through YFD.
- I complete a personal risk assessment.
- After that assessment, I provide a PRS fund recommendation based on your result.
- If you choose to proceed, I help implement it through YFD on the iFAST platform, which carries most of the PRS fund range.
Clients don’t need to buy insurance, unit trusts, Private Retirement Schemes (PRS) or other products through YFD. You can implement it yourself, or have your own agent, friend or family member handle it.
YFD is not tied to a single insurance or fund company. Clients can consider products from different providers, but the actual range that can be compared or implemented still depends on product availability, YFD’s licensing scope, and the relevant implementation arrangements. This does not mean YFD has access to every product from every company on the market.
The assessment is free and carries no obligation. YFD is remunerated on implementation. If you implement through me, I may receive commission from the relevant provider. My financial-planning fee is separate from product commission, and I will explain the arrangement before implementation. Read How YFD Makes Money for the full disclosure.
You do not need to leave an email to book the assessment. If you are not ready, you may leave your email to receive a note when the fee and drawdown comparison is available. This is optional and is not a condition of the free assessment.
Connect the fund choice to the rest of the PRS decision
Fund selection is only one part of PRS. Before contributing, also check the current tax-relief rules, the 70/30 sub-account structure, the pre-retirement withdrawal conditions and the fees that apply to your actual channel.
For an illustration only, if you are a Malaysian resident individual and your chargeable income falls within the RM70,001–RM100,000 band for Year of Assessment 2025, LHDN’s resident individual schedule shows a 19% marginal rate. YA2025 is the latest published LHDN resident individual schedule. Your own contribution may fall under a later year of assessment, so confirm the current rate through the YFD calculator and LHDN before relying on this figure. If you contribute at least RM3,000 and meet the prevailing PRS relief conditions and limit, the full RM3,000 illustration could reduce your chargeable income by RM3,000. At that stated rate, the result is a potential tax saving of RM570 (RM3,000 × 19%), or a reduction in net cost. This does not change the fund’s investment risk. The fund can still fall in value, and the relief does not offset an investment loss. A gross amount near RM100,000 does not by itself mean your chargeable income is RM100,000 after other reliefs and deductions. Check your own position with the YFD tax-relief calculator and LHDN’s current resident individual tax table.
The PRS versus EPF/KWSP comparison helps separate the role of PRS from your existing retirement savings. If you need to understand access before age 55, use the current PPA withdrawal rules and your provider's form.
PRS fund returns snapshot
If you are comparing PRS funds, a dated performance table is a useful starting point, but it should not be mistaken for a buy list. This revision uses the iFAST 10Y snapshot so the source and stated return convention are clear.
The 10Y tables below are a long-term retirement research screen, not a buy list. The ranking includes only records with a reported 10Y annualised figure; missing values are not assigned zero.
Source overview: this 10Y view uses the iFAST public PRS fund/share-class data snapshot. It contains 61 exact records, of which 43 report a 10Y figure. The latest bid-price dates in the snapshot are 2026-08-25 and 2026-08-26. This is a current iFAST view, not a complete census of every PRS fund in Malaysia.
Return basis: iFAST reports combined income and capital return based on bid-to-bid prices, with earnings assumed to be reinvested. The figures below are source-reported annualised returns. No cross-source adjustment or missing-value estimate has been added.
10Y highest reported annualised returns: iFAST view
This is ranked only among the 43 iFAST records with a reported 10Y figure. It identifies the highest reported returns, not the “best funds”, and missing values are not treated as zero.
Read the first two records as one theme, not a provider verdict. They are separate funds, one Shariah-compliant and one conventional, but both have an Asia-Pacific ex-Japan equity theme. That is concentrated single-region equity exposure, not a conclusion about Principal as a provider or proof that either fund suits you. Use the table as a screening output, then check the exact objective, unit class, charges and documents before acting.
| Rank | Fund record | Provider | iFAST category | Annualised return |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Principal Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Equity | 9.15% |
| 2 | Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Equity | 7.95% |
| 3 | Principal Islamic PRS Plus Growth – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Equity | 6.70% |
| 4 | Principal PRS Plus Equity – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Equity | 6.50% |
| 5 | AmPRS – Islamic Equity Fund – Class D | AmFunds Management Berhad | Equity | 6.18% |
| 6 | Principal PRS Plus Moderate – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Multi-Asset | 6.08% |
| 7 | AIA PAM – Growth Fund | AIA Pension and Asset Management Sdn. Bhd. | Equity | 5.74% |
| 8 | Principal Islamic PRS Plus Moderate – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Multi-Asset | 5.67% |
| 9 | Manulife Shariah PRS – Growth Fund – Class A | Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad | Equity | 5.65% |
| 10 | Principal PRS Plus Growth – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Equity | 5.62% |
10Y lowest reported annualised returns: iFAST view
This is ranked only among the 43 iFAST records with a reported 10Y figure. It identifies the lowest reported returns, not the “worst funds”, and missing values are not treated as zero.
| Rank | Fund record | Provider | iFAST category | Annualised return |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AmPRS – Asia Pacific REITs – Class D | AmFunds Management Berhad | Equity | -0.40% |
| 2 | Principal Islamic PRS Plus Equity – Class C | Principal Asset Management Berhad | Equity | 0.89% |
| 3 | AmPRS – Tactical Bond Fund – Class D | AmFunds Management Berhad | Fixed Income | 1.35% |
| 4 | RHB Retirement Series – Growth Fund | RHB Asset Management Sdn Bhd | Equity | 1.77% |
| 5 | Manulife Shariah PRS – Conservative Fund – Class A | Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad | Fixed Income | 2.07% |
| 6 | Manulife PRS – Conservative Fund – Class A | Manulife Investment Management (M) Berhad | Fixed Income | 2.15% |
| 7 | Kenanga OnePRS Conservative Fund | Kenanga Investors Berhad | Multi-Asset | 2.41% |
| 8 | Kenanga Shariah OnePRS Conservative Fund | Kenanga Investors Berhad | Fixed Income | 2.53% |
| 9 | AmPRS – Dynamic Sukuk Fund – Class D | AmFunds Management Berhad | Fixed Income | 2.74% |
| 10 | RHB Retirement Series – Moderate Fund | RHB Asset Management Sdn Bhd | Multi-Asset | 2.75% |
Compare within the iFAST category: 10Y reference
The overall ranking brings together different allocation types. This reference view keeps the source category visible, but it is still a performance screen rather than a recommendation.
| iFAST category | Records with reported 10Y data | Highest reported 10Y | Lowest reported 10Y |
|---|---|---|---|
| Balanced | 3 | Manulife Shariah PRS – Moderate Fund – Class A: 4.51% | Manulife PRS – Moderate Fund – Class A: 3.47% |
| Equity | 18 | Principal Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity – Class C: 9.15% | AmPRS – Asia Pacific REITs – Class D: -0.40% |
| Fixed Income | 11 | AmPRS – Conservative Fund – Class D: 3.75% | AmPRS – Tactical Bond Fund – Class D: 1.35% |
| Multi-Asset | 11 | Principal PRS Plus Moderate – Class C: 6.08% | Kenanga OnePRS Conservative Fund: 2.41% |
How to read the rankings
- Start with the horizon. A 10Y result covers a longer market cycle and is more relevant to a retirement decision than a short-term performance screen.
- Keep the source and date attached to the figure. This table uses the iFAST data snapshot and return convention, with bid-price dates of 2026-08-25 and 2026-08-26.
- Compare like with like. A Conservative or Fixed Income fund is not a fair direct comparison with an Equity, REIT or higher-risk fund. Categories and objectives matter.
- Treat large returns as a prompt to investigate risk. Equity, regional, currency and specialist REIT exposure can produce both strong gains and sharp losses.
- Check the exact fund record. Fund names are shown without platform purchase links. Before acting, verify the current share class, fees and fund documents with the provider or an authorised distributor.
- Look beyond the ranking. Compare the objective, benchmark, total fees, volatility, drawdown, fund age, distribution policy and how the PRS fund overlaps with your EPF and other investments.
These tables are research filters. They are not a promise of future returns and they are not personal financial advice.
Frequently asked questions
Which PRS fund has the highest reported 10Y return?
Why does this page show 10Y returns only?
Should I choose the top-ranked PRS fund?
Why can a Conservative fund rank below a Growth fund?
Why are some funds missing from a horizon table?
Does this cover every PRS fund in Malaysia?
iFAST Global Markets PRS information: public data snapshot retrieved 1 September 2026, with bid-price dates of 2026-08-25 and 2026-08-26. Fund names are shown without direct platform purchase links; use the provider or an authorised distributor to verify the current share class, fees and documents. Past performance is not indicative of future results. For help reviewing your PRS options, use the consultation link below.
If you decide to contribute after reviewing your options, I can help you check the fund choice and, where available through FA Advisory's applicable arrangements and licences, arrange the contribution through us. You can also implement through another authorised channel. My financial-planning fee is separate from any product commission. If you implement through me, I may receive commission from the relevant provider, and I will explain the arrangement before implementation.
About the Author
Sources and verification notes
This draft was prepared from the official pages below with an initial factual cutoff of 27 August 2026. Provider lists, fund names, charges, performance data and operating procedures can change. Recheck the current source and product documents before acting. This is general financial education, not personalised advice.
- PPA: PRS providers
- PPA: Structure of PRS
- PPA: Fund performance
- PPA: Fund information and fees
- PPA: What should I consider?
- PPA: PRS FAQs
Remuneration Disclosure
If you choose to arrange insurance, unit trusts or PRS through me and FA Advisory, I may receive commission from the relevant product provider. This commission is calculated separately from the financial-planning fee and does not offset or replace the planning fee. I will also explain the relevant arrangement and potential conflict of interest before implementation.
Read How YFD Makes Money for the full disclosure.